Only NPT Signed Countries Should Be Allowed To NSG, Says China On India’s Entry - TNBCLive

On Friday, China said that it will have no discussion over India’s entry into the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) before reaching a specific plan on the participation of members who did not sign the treaty on the Non-Proliferation of nuclear weapons (NPT) in the elite grouping. China has been insisting that only the NPT signed countries should be allowed to enter the organization which is a 48-member grouping that regulates global nuclear commerce.

India and Pakistan both countries have not signed the NPT. In 2016, India and Pakistan both the countries applied for the NSG membership. Meanwhile, the Foreign Ministry spokesman of China, Lu Kang told the media that the group will not discuss the entry of countries who have not signed the NPT “before reaching a specific plan”. He declined to give a timeline to reach a consensus among the member states on this issue. “So there is no discussion on India’s participation,” he said.

“There is no blocking by certain members. Because there are procedures in the NSG and members make decisions according to the procedures and proceedings. As far as I know, this plenary meeting is being held and there will be discussions on the NPT non-parties participation and the political and legal issues concerning that,” he added.

Lu Kang further claimed “Before reaching a specific plan, the NSG will not discuss on the participation of certain NPT non-party (countries who have not signed NPT). So there is no discussion on India”s participation.”

“As far China’s position is concerned, we respect the NSG rules and regulations and we will seek non-discriminatory solution that can be accepted by all,” he quoted.

Related Articles