The 2019 National Election will be held in seven rounds, starting from April 11 and the results will be declared on May 23, informed the Election Commission (EC) on Sunday. Voting will take place across India on April 11, April 19, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12, and May 19.

The announcement of election dates signals the start of a colossal voting exercise, which might see Prime Minister Narendra Modi seeking another term in office and the opposition attempted to join forces to put up a strong fight.

General Elections will also be held in four states- Sikkim, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, and Arunachal Pradesh, along with the Parliamentary Elections.

PM Modi tweets, “The festival of democracy, elections are here. I urge my fellow Indians to enrich the 2019 Lok Sabha elections with their active participation. I hope this election witnessed a historic turnout. I particularly call upon first-time voters to vote in record numbers.”

7 rounds of election, commence from April 11 to May 19 and results on May 23 |

The Model ‘Code of Conduct’ spells out does and don’ts for the forthcoming elections, which indicates that the government cannot announce any new schemes for now.

However, the EC has been alleged by the centre-opposition Congress for delaying the dates to enable the government to rush through the introduction of projects and welfare schemes, no announcements can be made once the EC declares the election dates. EC sources have rejected the claims.

7 rounds of election, commence from April 11 to May 19 and results on May 23 |

The Lok Sabha term ends on June 3.

While announcing the dates of elections, the Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora claims that “examination schedules of all state boards and factors like festivals and harvest season were taken into consideration while fixing poll dates.”

Over 900 million voters would be eligible for voting, about 15 million between the age group of 18 and 19 years.

In 2014, PM Modi-led BJP Government became the first party over three decades to win a majority votes on its own, it won 282-seats out of 543-seats in Lok Sabha elections. However, the majority mark is 272-seats. In total, the BJP-led NDA Government won 336-seats in the last election.

After two terms, Congress was voted out of power and was reduced to 44-seats only.

The EC said that the Assembly Elections will not be held in Jammu and Kashmir along with the Lok Sabha Elections as the state has been under the rule of the Governor since the BJP has ended its ruling alliance in June with Mehbooba Mufti’s People’s Democratic Party.

Here are the dates when the election will take place in your state or union territory.

7 rounds of election, commence from April 11 to May 19 and results on May 23 |

Since 2014, some opinion polls have recommended ebbing support for BJP. However, this time the ruling party is said to be facing toughest challenge after the Congress won 3 keys state election victories in December, damaging BJP’s core support base to nearly half a billion voters in the Hindi heartland home.
Until a few days ago, farmer distress, shortage of jobs, and other troubles were seen as made of the ruling party’s popularity. But after the pre-dawn air strikes in Pakistan’s Balakot following a deadly terror attack in Pulwama, reflected a strong reply to terror from Pak-based outfits, BJP leaders have also spoken about a wave in the support of the party. Congress and other oppositions have hit out at ruling BJP government, alleged it of exploiting the armed forces to influence voters.

Related Articles
Next Story
Going Viral
“Let’s Move Forward, Free PoK From Pakistan,” Says Jitendra Singh

“Let’s Move Forward, Free PoK From Pakistan,” Says Jitendra Singh

by Chandrani Sarkar August 19, 2019
On Sunday, Union Minister Jitendra Singh has said after the scrapping of “special status” to Jammu and Kashmir, people should now pray for incorporation of Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK) with India in their lifetime.  Mr. Singh further downplayed the detention of mainstream political leaders and communication blockade in the Kashmir Valley, followed by the elimination of “special status” granted and bifurcation of Jammu and Kashmir in two seperate Union Territories.  While...