2018 Hindi Diwas: Reasons to celebrate the day on September 14

2018 Hindi Diwas: Reasons to celebrate the day on September 14

Hindi Diwas is annually celebrated on September 14. On this day, in the year 1949, Hindi writing in Devanagari script became the official language of the country under Article 343. Stalwarts like Hazari Prasad Dwivedi, Beohar Rajendra Simha, Maithili Sharan Gupt, Kaka Kalelkar, and Seth Govind Das entrance hard for the reason and on September 14, 1949, Hindi Day or Diwas started being observed.

India has over 22 scheduled languages, out of all two are used officially at Union Government of India level, English and Hindi.

VP Venkaiah Naidu gave away Rajbhasha Kirti Puraskar on 2018 Hindi Diwas. On the occasion, Union Minister for Home affairs Kiren Rijuju and Home Minister Rajnath Singh also participated.

Over 250 million people in the country speak in the language Hindi and it is world’s fourth language.

Union Environment Minister Harsh Vardhan tweeted saying “Though all Indian languages, Gujarati, Kannada, Telugu, Marathi, originated from Sanskrit, Hindi is the most convenient for most of the population.”

Last week, PM Modi directed not to use “complex technical terms” in Hindi, says that language instead should be spread via day-by-day conversation.

A statement from PM’s office quoted him as stating that “He (PM Modi) stressed that the Hindi language should be spread through day-to-day conversations and complex technical terms should be avoided or used negligibly for official purposes.”

2018 Hindi Diwas remained to trend as people all over comments on Twitter about the glory of the language “Hindi”.

by Chandrani Sarkar on September 14, 2018

Related Articles