Double Friend Request on Facebook is Actually a Scam

Double Friend Request on Facebook is Actually a Scam

Though the message echoes so real, actually it is a scam that has been viral. We observed an instance in our Facebook feed:

“ Almost every account is being cloned. Your picture and your name are used to create a new Facebook account. They want your friends to add them to your Facebook account. Your friends will think it’s you and accept your name. From that point on they can write what they want under your name.”

Yes, it sounds inferior but it is true. Many times Facebook has been hacked. Most recently, in the last week, the social network informed that around 50 million accounts were badly impacted through the latest hack, regarding the ‘View As’ feature that allows people to see how their looks like to others.

Facebook said in a blog post, “ This allowed them to steal Facebook access tokens which they could then use to take over people’s accounts. Access tokens are the equivalent of digital keys that keep people logged in to Facebook so they don’t need to re-enter their password every time they use the app.”

 

About the new fake friend request, Jeremiah Owyang, an industry analyst with Kaleido Insights comments that this kind of scams have been an individual part of social media network since the starting and therefore, “ I would not lose sleep over it.”

Any post can be reposted again and again frequently, without a scope of a check, which he assumed is actually happened with the recent post.

Facebook said, “ The volume of these types of posts is not the good measure for how often impersonation is actually happening. For example, it is not accurate that “almost every account is being cloned, as one of these posts claims.”

by Haimantee Ghosh on October 9, 2018

Related Articles