On Monday, Sourav Ganguly with his team went in for a shock, after he entered the BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) HQ in Mumbai to file the nomination papers for various posts of office beareres as Electoral Officer N. Gopalaswami was absent. He was absent till 3:00 PM, forced the team to hand over the nomination papers to the legal team of the BCCI. While speaking to sources, one of the newly-appointed office bearers has confirmed the same and has said that even the board executives were unknown of the reason behind the delay. 

The official was quoted saying, “Yes, we had been waiting for the Electoral Officer, but we finally handed the papers over to the legal team at around 2.45 p.m. as the closing time for filing was 3 p.m. We still waited till 3 pm and then left.”

According to the notice issued by the Electoral Officer to the full members of the BCCI, the time to file nomination papers was from 11:00 AM to 3:00 PM. 

The meetings and counter meetings ruled the roost as the affiliated units of the BCCI along with the notable of the board met on Sunday in Mumbai.  

At the end of the day, which Mr. Ganguly was selected to be the next President of BCCI, Brijesh Patel secured the position of IPL Chairman. Jay Shah is to be the Secretary of the BCCI, Arun Dhumal will be the Treasurer, and Jayesh George selected for the post of the Joint Secretary of BCCI. 

The new members will officially take charges of the BCCI when the Committee of Administrators (CoA) handed over power of office to the office-bearers on October 23.

Related Articles
Next Story
Going Viral
PM Modi Says India-US Will Soon Start “Big Trade Deal” Negotiations

PM Modi Says India-US Will Soon Start “Big Trade Deal” Negotiations

by Susmita February 26, 2020
On Tuesday, after completing the bilateral talks with United States President Donald Trump, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said both the countries would begin negotiations for a big trade deal soon. PM Modi also described Indo-US relations as “one of the most important partnerships” of the 21st century. Both countries are aiming to increase the bilateral defence and security cooperation is a very crucial aspect of this relationship.  During the meeting,...