On June 25, 1983, India won its first-ever Cricket World Cup, 37th anniversary - TNBCLive

On June 25, 1983 Indian team led by all-rounder Kapil Dev won their first-ever Men’s Cricket World Cup title against West Indies. It’s time to look back to celebrate the 37th anniversary of the momentous occasion.  The trophy was lifted by India after it defeated West Indies in the final 43 runs at the Lord’s Cricket Ground.

The Indian team of XI included Kapil Dev (c), Sunil Gavaskar, K Srikkanth, Mohinder Amarnath, Yashpal Sharma, SM Patil, Kirti Azad, Roger Binny, Madan Lal, Syed Kirmani, and Balwinder Sandhu. Cricket in India got a motivation after the win, making a dream in every child  to become a cricketer.

In the final, West Indies won the toss and got the chance to bowl first. The then skipper of India Kapil Dev managed to score just 183 runs in 54.5 overs as Andy Roberts took three wickets while Malcolm Marshall, Michael Holding, and Larry Gomes picked up two wickets each. India lost their last seven wickets for 93 runs while Windies lost their last nine wickets for 90 runs.

Kris Srikkanth managed to score the highest as he played a knock of 38 runs while no other of his teammates could score above 30. Roger Binny was the highest wicket-taker in the 1983 Cricket World Cup. India defended West Indies very well from making extra scores. Madan Lal dismissed the key batsmen Vivian Richards (33), reducing Windies to 57/3.

Soon after, the team from the Caribbean was reduced to 76/6 and India was the favorites from there on to win the title. Mohinder Amarnath and Madan Lal rocked in bowling, taking three wickets apiece. Mohinder Amarnath took the final wicket of Michael Holding to give India its first-ever World Cup title win.

All the Indian fans will always cherish the golden moment when Kapil Dev lifted the trophy at the balcony of Lord’s Cricket Ground. India has been a regular participant of the World Cup from the very first and is continuing to take part. India has won the title for two times, first in 1983 and after that in 2011 under MS Dhoni’s captaincy.

Related Articles