The ICC World Cup 2019 is going to start on Thursday,  at Kennington Oval, in London where England will start their campaign under the captaincy of Eoin Morgan against South Africa. In the 2015 World Cup, England had suffered a first-round exit in Australia and New Zealand. In the last few years, England has improved in a great way and ranked top of the One-day International (ODI) rankings and scored record highest ODI total twice, which now stands at 481 for six.

England leg-spinner Adil Rashid said, “It’s an exciting feeling being in this team as you have world-class players all around you and the opposition might get 370, but there’s a belief in the dressing room we can chase it down”.

“There is no hesitation or someone going ‘I don’t know about this’. We all have that belief and confidence we can do it,” he added. Rashid has always proved himself as an important part of England’s white-ball revival. He further added that “We will hopefully stick to what we’ve been doing the past four years and hopefully the World Cup will work out well for us.”

On the other side, South Africa will have great pressure on them after losing semi-finalists four years. South Africa coach Ottis Gibson said, “I heard somewhere that my two very good friends Broad and Anderson have said that England will have to do something really bad not to win this World Cup”.

“As far as they are concerned England have won it already,” he added.

Former West Indies fast bowler Gibson added, “To play the hosts, the number one team, is the best way to start because it gives us a real sense of where we are and what we need to do going forward.”

In the team of England, there are Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wk), Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

While in the team of South Africa there are Faf du Plessis (capt), Aiden Markram, Quinton de Kock (wk), Hashim Amla, Rassie van der Dussen, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, JP Duminy, Dwaine Pretorius, Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir, Tabraiz Shamsi, Chris Morris.

Related Articles