Former Indian Cricketer Gautam Gambhir may contest in April-May Lok Sabha Election from New Delhi in BJP tickets. The 37-years-old cricketer may contest from New Delhi constituency, which is currently held by BJP’s Meenakshi Lekhi, reports sources. Mr. Gambhir is a resident of Rajinder Nagar, which falls under the same constituency.

Ms. Lekhi may be contesting from any one of the other constituencies in Delhi, which accounted for 7-seats in 545-members Lok Sabha.  

Recently, Gautam Gambhir was awarded the Padma Sri, has so far been non-committal about joining politics.

He was a high-profile campaigner for Union Minister Arun Jaitley in 2014 contest from Punjab’s Amritsar. However, Mr. Jaitley has lost the election to Congress Punjab Chief Amarinder Singh, who is the present Chief Minister of Punjab.

The former opening batsman has retired from Indian cricket team in December after 15-years of the journey. Mr. Gambhir now runs a community kitchen, other than appearing as a commentator.

Cricketer Gautam Gambhir’s social media posts with strong comments on contemporary politics and incident happen nowadays, that he would soon “start a new inning”, quoted in most headlines.

Gambhir’s Twitter account is full of post on the terror attack in J&K’s Pulwama district, in which over 40 CRPF jawans were killed by a JeM suicide bomber on February 14. Recently, he pledged educational support for children of Indian soldiers. He had always been extremely critical of Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal’s AAP (Aam Aadmi Party).

However, BJP sources claim that Gautam Gambhir may be the ace, which the party will launch in Delhi that is all set for a three-way contest with Congress and AAP failed to form an alliance to take on BJP.

In 2014, after winning all 7 parliamentary seats from Delhi, BJp has seen the rise of AAP, which won the state polls and reduced the ruling party to few 3-seats out of 70-seats in Delhi Assembly.

In he does politics jointly, Mr. Gambhir will tread the crowded direction of cricketer-turned-politician like Mohammad Azharuddin, Kirti Azad, Mohammad Kaif, and Navjot Singh Sidhu.

On May 12, Delhi will vote and the result of the seven round of elections will be announced on May 23.

Related Articles
Next Story
Going Viral
PM Modi To Unveil ‘Gandhi Solar Park’ At United Nations

PM Modi To Unveil ‘Gandhi Solar Park’ At United Nations

by Chandrani Sarkar September 20, 2019
In a first of its kind symbolic efforts at the United Nations by India, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate 50KW “Gandhi Solar Park” in the coming week during his visit to the United Nations General Assembly Session, a gesture that highlights the willingness of India to go beyond the discussion on climate change.  At a contribution of around one million dollars, India has gifted ‘solar panels’ that have...