On Wednesday, the TMC has accused the Election Commission of India of bias and has submitted a memorandum to the election body against the transfer of top police officers in West Bengal, ahead of the first round of election in 2019 Lok Sabha Polls.

TMC leaders Derek O’Brien, Chandan Mitra, and Sukhendu Sekhar Ray has lodged a nine-point memorandum showing protest what they termed as Election Commission biasedness.

Indicating the hand of ex-TMC lawmaker Mukul Roy, Mr. Derek said that “People are saying Nirvachan Commission has become Nikamma Commission. Enough is enough. Transfers of good, honest senior police officers of Bengal are being decided by a traitor who now works out of the BJP Central office in Kolkata.” Mr. Roy is now a BJP candidate, in the removal of  Cooch Behar Superintendent of Police Abhishek Gupta on April 9 by the election body.

In the memorandum, the state-ruling party has also said that the removal of Kolkata Police Commissioner Anuj Sharma along with BidhanNagar Police Commissioner Gyanwant Singh, Diamond Harbour SP S Selvamurugan, Birbhum SP Shyam Singh, and Airport Division DCP Avaru Rabindranath, have been affected “without following proper procedure”.

“In this case, we have observed that the transfers were made soon after complaints were made and instructions issued by BJP leaders who publicly claimed,” such steps were taken by ECI at the initiative of the party, alleged the memorandum.

On Tuesday, earlier in a letter to the Chief Election Commission, TMC had accused Mr. Gupta’s transfer was “arbitrary, motivated and biased” adding that the election panel is working according to the instruction of BJP leaders.

Related Articles
Next Story
Going Viral
Defence Minister Rajnath Singh To Visit Kargil

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh To Visit Kargil

by Chandrani Sarkar July 18, 2019
On July 20, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh will visit Kargil to pay homage to martyrs who laid down their lives in Kargil War.  Mr. Singh has lit a “Victory Flame” on July 14 at the National War Memorial in New Delhi which is about to reach Jammu and Kashmir’s Drass on July 26, to celebrate the country’s victory over Pakistan in Kargil War.  The “Victory Flame” will cross through 11...