Today, the DMK has moved to the top court seeking for urgent hearing of its petition for elimination of 11 AIADMK Assembly Lawmakers for voting against Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K Palanisamy during Confidence Motion in 2017. 

A justice-bench headed by Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi claims that it will consider listing the petition of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, seeking for the elimination of the lawmakers, including Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam.

In April 2018, the Madras High Court had declined a petition by the DMK to sack the 11 lawmakers.

O Panneerselvam and other 10 lawmakers, then in the agitator camp had voted against the trust vote sought by the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu on February 18, 2017. 

Related Articles