PM Modi introduces Rs. 33,000 crore Metro and Housing Projects in Maharashtra - TNBCLive

Today, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has laid the foundation stone for two metro lines and affordable housing projects, which are entailing an investment of more than Rs. 33,000 crore in the megapolis.

During an event, which was organized months ahead of the significant 2019 General Elections, PM Modi started work on the ambitious Dahisar-Mira Bhayander (Metro 9) and Thane-Bhiwandi-Kalyan (Metro 5) in Mumbai that requires an investment of more than Rs. 15,000 crore.

PM Modi has introduced the Navi Mumbai Town planning authority Cidco’s City & Industrial Development Corporation (Cidco) mass-housing scheme, which will cost Rs. 18,000 crores and offers about 89,771 affordable units under the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana.

He was accompanied by Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Union Urban Development Minister Hardeep Singh Puri has laid the foundation stones for all three projects.

Thane-Bhiwandi-Kalyan Metro corridor (Metro 5) is 24.9 km long and will cost Rs. 8,416-crore is likely to carry around 2.29 lakh commuters daily by 2021, and the entire system is designed for the six-coach train. The corridor is designed with 17 stations.

However, the 10.3-km elevated Dahisar-Mira Bhayander corridor (Metro-9) will have 8 stations and is likely to be completed by 2022 and the estimated cost of the project is Rs. 6,607 crore.

Both the metro projects are executed by the Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA).

According to the proposal, Metro 9 will be merged with Metro 7 (Dahisar to Andheri), and Metro 2A (Dahisar-DN Road) along with the proposed Rs. 3,600-crore Gaimukh-Shivaji Chowk (Mira Road or Metro 10).

The process to appoint General Consultants and Contractors for Civil Works for Metro 9 is in progress and likely to commence from March 2019.

Presently, the northwestern suburbs of Mira-Bhayander are linked to Mumbai through the suburban line.

At present, several metro corridors work is underway across the megapolis, which includes the DN Nagar-Mankhurd (Metro 2B), Dahisar-DN Nagar (Metro 2A), SwamiSamarthnagar- Jogeshwari-Vikhroli (Metro 6), Andheri (East) 0-Dhisar (Metro 7), Wadala-Kasarvadavali (Metro 4), and Colaba-Bandra-Seepz (Metro-3).

Related Articles