Disqualified Karnataka MLAs Moved To Supreme Court For Urgent Hearing - TNBCLive

On Tuesday, the top court has directed the rebel Congress-JD(S) MLAs from Karnataka to hand over a memo to the registrar for urgent listing of their petition challenging their disqualification from the Karnataka Assembly. 

A justice-bench headed by Justice Arun Mishra told Senior Advocate Mukul Rohatgi, appeared for the rebel MLAs to give the written reply to the registrar for urgent listing of their petition. 

Mr. Rohtagi told the justice-bench that all these opposition MLAs have been disqualified and the issue should be listed for hearing on August 19. 

Total of 17 opposition MLAs were disqualified from the State Assembly, ahead of July 19 trust vote moved by the then Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy. 

However, Mr. Kumaraswamy has lost the floor test, paved the way for a BJP-led Modi Government in Karnataka under BS Yediyurappa. 

Related Articles