Today, Congress to declare the name of next Chhattisgarh Chief Minister - TNBCLive

In Chhattisgarh, Congress will hold its legislature party meeting in Raipur today to decide on the next Chief Minister of the state.

Lok Sabha member of Congress, Tamradhwaj Sahu successfully contested in the Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections from Durg Rural Constituency, state party President Bhupesh Baghel and senior party leader TS Singh Deo are front-runners for the CM post.

Congress has registered a landslide victory in the Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections, brought an end to the 15-years rule of BJP-led by Raman Singh’s government. Congress has secured 68-seats in 90-members assembly and BJP got 15-seats.

State Congress General Secretary Shailesh Nitin Trivedi told the source that “the Congress Legislature Party meeting will be held at 8 pm. All India Congress Committee’s observer Mallikarjun Kharge, AICC in-charge for the state PL Punia and other senior leaders will be present there.” The Chief Minister of the state is likely to be declared after the meeting.

Ex-Chief Minister Ajit Jogi-led by Janata Congress Chhattisgarh secured 5-seats and his ally BSP won 2-seats.

A party needs to a secured minimum of 46-seats to form a government in the state.

Congress secured 43 percent of total votes in the Assembly Elections, while BJP got 33 percent.

Related Articles