Odisha BJP leader Bijoy Mohapatra and Dilip Ray quits Party - TNBCLive

On Friday, the BJP unit in Odisha has received a jolt when two of its National Executive Members, Bijoy Mohapatra and Dilip Ray has submitted the application for resignation to the party.

Mr. Mohapatra and Mr. Ray have submitted a joint resignation letter to the BJP National Chief Amit Shah. They continued that most of the party leaders remained silent over several issues about the state fearing denial of the party tickets.

The joint resignation letter, signed by both the leaders continued that “The well-meaning suggestions by us to you were construed as a threat by certain egocentric self-servicing individuals who resorted to dirty tricks and a campaign was launched in our respective constituencies to try and deride us.”

Odisha BJP leader Bijoy Mohapatra and Dilip Ray quits Party | tnbclive.in

“As self-respecting politicians with decades of service to Odisha, we refuse to continue in the party as showpieces. We can’t be treated as furniture in the party while the rootless talk big and project a larger than life image,” added the letter.

It further reads, “For us, the interest of the state is supreme. We have never ever compromised our self-respect or the interest of the state for any post, power or ticket,” adding that such silence was a bad sign for any democracy.

Mr. Ray holds the legislator office from Rourkela Assembly Constituency has also resigned from the membership of BJP of the Odisha Legislative Assembly today.

Mr. Ray tweeted, “It is with deep anguish that I have decided to quit as the Member of State Legislative Assembly as well as from the Membership of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).”

Related Articles