In Uttarakhand, BJP Wins Five Of Seven Mayor Seats

In Uttarakhand, BJP Wins Five Of Seven Mayor Seats

Dehradun: In the state of Uttarakhand BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) has won five of the seven Mayor seats. The Congress won two. Official revealed that the BJP had won in Haldwani, Rudrapur, Rishikesh, Kashipur, and the state capital Dehradun while the Congress emerged victorious in Haridwar and Kotdwar.

On November 18 the state election was held in 84 urban local bodies, 39 Nagar Palika councils and 38 Urban Panchayats.  

Out of total 1,064 seats, results for 817 have been declared. The maximum seats of councillors were won by independents, followed by the BJP and Congress. Independents candidates have won 464, the BJP 215 and the Congress 132.

The Samajwadi Party (SP), and the Uttarakhand Kranti Dal (UKD) have won one seat each, however, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won two seats.

The BJP has baddeg 18, Congress 6 and Independents 12 of the 38 Nagar Panchayats.

The Congress 13, of the 39 Nagar Palika chairman results, the BJP independents have won 10 each.

by Priti on November 21, 2018

Related Articles