Hours after quitting MGP and joining BJP in Goa, Lawmaker Deepak Pauskar was inducted formally into Goa Cabinet on Wednesday.

Deepak Pauskar and another MGP MLA Manohar Ajgaonakar quit the party to join state-ruling BJP in early hours of Wednesday. Several Ministers, including BJP Ministers, in Goa, didn’t attend the oath-taking ceremony. Expect for Ministers Govind Gawade, Nilesh Cabral, and Manohar Ajgaonakar, no one else from state Cabinet were present at the event.

Members and Legislators of JP ally Goa Forward Party, two other Independent MLAs, who supported the Chief Minister Pramod Sawant-led BJP government, and a majority of party minister did not attend the oath-taking the event.

After breaking from parent party, two Independent formed their own legislature wing and merged with state-ruling BJP. Now, MGP is left only with 1 MLA- Sudin Dhavalikar.

The oath-taking ceremony of Mr. Pauskar was administered by Goa Governor Mridula Sinha, organized at Raj Bhavan at around 11.35 pm.

While talking to the source after the oath-taking ceremony, CM Swant said that he will allow the portfolio to Deepak Pauskar today.

Sudin Dhavalikar’s portfolio or public works and transport will now be looked after by the Goa Chief Minister.

After MGP MLA Sudin Dhavalikar was dropped from Deputy Chief Minister post. Mr. Pauskar was formally inducted into the Cabinet.

Manohar Ajgaonakar is the Minister of Goa Tourism.

Deepak Pauskar is a first-time MLA from Sanvordem Assembly Constituency in Goa (South). Currently, he is a Chairman of Goa State Infrastructure Development Corporation.

Related Articles
Next Story
Going Viral
Defence Minister Rajnath Singh To Visit Kargil

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh To Visit Kargil

by Chandrani Sarkar July 18, 2019
On July 20, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh will visit Kargil to pay homage to martyrs who laid down their lives in Kargil War.  Mr. Singh has lit a “Victory Flame” on July 14 at the National War Memorial in New Delhi which is about to reach Jammu and Kashmir’s Drass on July 26, to celebrate the country’s victory over Pakistan in Kargil War.  The “Victory Flame” will cross through 11...