On Thursday, security forces detained four Naxals in Bedre area, shortly before elections in the region commenced. Three country-made rifles were also seized from them.

Today, in the first round of election, 91 constituencies will go to polls, including 8-seats in Uttar Pradesh (West), 7-seats in Maharashtra, 5-seats in Uttarakhand, 4-seats each in Assam, Bihar and Odisha, and 1-seat each in Sikkim, Tripura, Chhattisgarh, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Manipur, Nagaland, Lakshadweep, and Mizoram.  

The election in Chhattisgarh’s Bijapur that falls under Bastar Parliamentary Constituency, scheduled today, and the results will be declared on May 23.

Further details awaited.

Related Articles
Next Story
Going Viral
Defence Minister Rajnath Singh To Visit Kargil

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh To Visit Kargil

by Chandrani Sarkar July 18, 2019
On July 20, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh will visit Kargil to pay homage to martyrs who laid down their lives in Kargil War.  Mr. Singh has lit a “Victory Flame” on July 14 at the National War Memorial in New Delhi which is about to reach Jammu and Kashmir’s Drass on July 26, to celebrate the country’s victory over Pakistan in Kargil War.  The “Victory Flame” will cross through 11...