Union Minister Giriraj Singh keep the possession of the Begusarai seat as a BJP candidate by defeating his opponent CPI candidate Kanhaiya Kumar by a margin of over four lakh votes. The results were revealed on Thursday.

Mr. Singh was moved to Begusarai from Nawada with some reluctance, where he achieved an excellent victory with 6.92 lakh votes of the total 12.17 lakh polled as part of the fourth phase of elections. On the other side his opponent Kanhaiya Kumar got only 2.7 lakh votes. The difference between the two candidates came out to be a whopping 4.22 lakh votes.

Meanwhile, the Rashtriya Janata Dal candidate Mohammad Tanweer Hassan got 1.98 lakh votes holding the third position. According the sources, this election over 20,000 voters from Begusarai voted for NOTA.

Previously the RJD had decided to field Kanhaiya from the parliamentary constituency as a part of alliance with the CPI but later it considered that fielding a candidate from the Bhumihar caste may inflame its support base of Yadavs and Muslims. However, the CPI was not happy with the decision and they denied to tie up with the RJD. The CPI was confident about the fact that Kanhaiya Kumar will be successful because the district has a strong legacy of the Left movement.

Soon after the victory of Giriraj Singh came out, clashes broke out between BJP and CPI supporters, sources said. On Thursday evening, after the BJP supporters allegedly burst firecrackers near the CPI office in Begusarai, the violence erupted. Police said both the party workers threw stones at each other and security forces have been deployed in the area.

Related Articles
Next Story
Going Viral
Amit Shah Congratulates Team India Says,  “Another strike on Pakistan…”

Amit Shah Congratulates Team India Says, “Another strike on Pakistan…”

by Susmita June 17, 2019
On Sunday, after Indian cricket team’s comfortable victory over Pakistan by 89-runs at the ongoing cricket World Cup in England. Indian political leaders and parties have praised the team lavishly for the glorious win. Home Minister Amit Shah tweeted, "Another strike on Pakistan by team India and the result is the same." This was for the seventh time, India defeated Pakistan in the World Cup. The Home Minister tweeted, "Another...