Congress races ahead in Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections, BJP Trails - TNBCLive

On Tuesday, the center-ruling BJP lagged behind the Congress as votes started counting in Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections. BJP’s third-term Chief Minister Raman Singh has briefly trailed in his constituency but leads now. As the Congress has spread the gap with BJP in the state, CM Singh was locked in a tough fight in Rajnandgaon seat, where his rival is Karuna Shukla of Congress, the niece of ex-Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

CM Singh is the longest serving Chief Minister of the BJP, three terms, which is more than Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s tenure as Chief Minister of Gujarat and two more years than Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan in power.

In 2013 Elections, Raman Singh secured the Chief Ministerial seats by a margin of 36,000 votes.

The alliance of BSP (Bahujan Samaj Party)-led by Mayawati and former Chief Minister Ajit Jogi’s Janata appears to make little impact in the vote counts of Congress.

BSP merged with Ajit Jogi’s Janata, which is an opposition of Congress- is likely to hurt the Congress more than BJP.

Most of the exit polls had predicted a neck-and-neck fight between the two major parties and some projected victory for the Congress.

BJP seeks a fourth straight term in power and Congress aims to return back in the states after 15-years out of power in the largely tribal state, Chhattisgarh.

In 2013 Assembly Elections in Chhattisgarh, BJP secured 49 seats, Congress 39 and 1 seat each was booked by Independent and BSP.

Related Articles