Congress claims its lead in Madhya Pradesh in Late night drama - TNBCLive

In Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections, counting was still on in late Tuesday night, the Congress declares their win over BJP in the state with a clear majority. In a press conference that lasted till 2:30 am, the top 3 Congress leaders in the state- Jyotiraditya Scindia, Kamal Nath, and Digvijaya Singh said that they had written a letter to the state Governor to invited them as they wanted to prove their majority.

Amid chaos in Bhopal, Mr. Nath told the source that “I would like to inform you with extreme happiness that the Congress has won with a clear majority in Madhya Pradesh.”

Congress secured 111 seats in Madhya Pradesh and leads in three others, which is likely to take its total to 114 seats, one short of halfway mark in the 230 assembly members. A master strategist Kamal Nath has already opened talks with Mayawati’s BSP, GGP, SP, and independents to form an alliance.

He had also sought for an appointment from state Governor Anandiben Patel, the former Chief Minister of Gujarat, for tonight, but he was asked to wait until all the results are in.

Mr. Nath had written, “As the president of Pradesh Congress Committee, I seek an appointment with your Excellency late tonight, as soon as the results are officially declared along with my senior leaders to apprise you and seek your permission to form a government in the state of Madhya Pradesh.”

Congress now expects to meet the Governor in the morning.

BJP won 103-seats in the state and is leading in another 6 has also lost all their hopes in Madhya Pradesh and will meet the Governor on Wednesday.

Madhya Pradesh BJP Chief Rakesh Singh said, “Congress does not have the mandate in the state. Many Independents are in touch with the BJP.”

On Tuesday, Madhya Pradesh has seen a close fight that swung wildly between center-ruling BJP and Congress, whose Shivraj Singh Chouhan was eyeing a record for the fourth term.

In 2013 Assembly Elections, BJP won 165-seats out of the 230-seats in the state, followed by Congress at 58 and BSP at 4.

A win in the Madhya Pradesh sets the Congress up for a leadership battle between Jyotiraditya Scindia, Kamal Nath, and Digvijaya Singh. So far, Congress maintained silence on the subject and as the election results are on, Mr. Scindia drove to Mr. Nath’s house and the leaders arrived together at the party office in Bhopal.

Related Articles