On Thursday, the BJP has declared the name of the candidates for 99 of the 147 Assembly seats in Odisha. Odisha will observe the polling in four phases which is going to begin from April 11 and the Assembly elections and Lok Sabha elections will take place simultaneously in the state.
After the BJP has its Central Election Committee meeting in New Delhi, the list was declared by the party. Some days ago, the party has already announced the names of its candidates for 10 of the 21 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha.
Several other leaders took the decision to join the BJP. Among them, some has joined the BJP after resigning either from the ruling Biju Janata Dal headed by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik or the Congress. BJP has planned a 120-plus mission for Odisha.
Damodar Rout (Balikuda-Ersama) and Kusum Tete (Sundergarh) who have recently joined the party, were given the tickets by the BJP to contest for the upcoming polls.
Salipur Prakash Behera, the former MLA of Congress has recently joined the BJP has been selected as the party’s candidate from his own constituency.
Senior leaders, such as former minister Samir Dey has been named as the BJP candidate from Cuttack-Barabati assembly segment while former minister Jaynarayan Mishra will contest from Sambalpur seat.
The leader of the BJP Legislature Party KV Singhdeo will contest from his Patnagarh assembly segment, while his wife Sangeeta has been named as a BJP candidate to contest from Bolangir Lok Sabha seat.
Prithviraj Harichandan will contest from Chilika assembly. Remuna MLA Gobind Das has also been made a candidate from his constituency.

Related Articles
Next Story
Going Viral
Other than BJP, No Political Party Can Keep Country Safe, Claims Amit Shah

Other than BJP, No Political Party Can Keep Country Safe, Claims Amit Shah

by Chandrani Sarkar April 25, 2019
BJP Chief Amit Shah has claimed that opposition leaders cannot look after the security of the nation properly. While addressing an election rally in Uttar Pradesh’s Ghazipur Constituency, Mr. Shah has alleged that BSP Supremo Mayawati, Samajwadi Party Chief Akhilesh Yadav, and Congress Chief Rahul Gandhi were upset with the air strikes in Pakistan’s Balakot. Mr. Shah continued, “These ‘mahamilavati’ people talk about the country. Akhilesh, Mayawati and Congress cannot...