The Election Commission has issued a show-cause notice to Delhi BJP MLA OM Prakash Sharma over putting up posters featuring Prime Minister Narendra Modi, IAF Wing Commander Abhinandan Varthaman and himself on Facebook.

EC has asked him to remove the post immediately and give a reply to the board by Thursday.

2019 Lok Sabha Elections is scheduled to start from April 11 and will continue till May 19. Elections in Delhi will take place in two phases and the final results will be declared on May 23.

The poster was shared on social media on March 1, featured PM Modi, Amit Shah, IAF Pilot Varthaman, and Mr. Sharma, who is representing the Vishwas Nagar seat in Delhi Assembly.   

The Facebook poster reads, “Pakistan has bowed down. Our brave soldier has returned. It’s a big diplomatic victory that Modi Ji has brought Abhinandan back in very little time.”

The District Magistrate of Shahdara, K M Mahesh said that “we issued a show-cause notice to Mr. Sharma on March 11 for posting posters featuring Abhinandan Varthaman on Facebook.”

Mr. Mahesh, who is also a returning officer said that “He (Sharma) has been asked to furnish a reply by 11 am Thursday. It’s a violation of the Model Code of Conduct and appropriate action will be taken.”

Referring to the December 2013 letter to all political parties, the EC had recently asked them to withhold from making reference to armed forces while campaigning for elections.

The election panel had come against the backdrop of a photo showing a hoarding with images of the IAF Pilot and leaders of a party. 

Related Articles
Next Story
Going Viral
Prime Minister Narendra Modi Thanks World Leaders For Messages Of Congratulation

Prime Minister Narendra Modi Thanks World Leaders For Messages Of Congratulation

by Chandrani Sarkar May 24, 2019
On Thursday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi thanked world leaders and prominent personalities for their messages of congratulation after NDA government is ready to return to power for another term, claims Modi Government will work with the highest diligence to form a better India. In a series of Twitter post, he thanked world leaders, such as Israel Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, Afghanistan President Ashraf Ghani, and Sri Lankan PM Ranil Wickremesinghe....