Today, Delhi Metro’s Grey Line, connecting Dwarka and Najafgarh will open. The operations will start on the over 4km-long Grey Line in the evening at 5 pm. Officials also stated that the Delhi Metro Grey will bring Najafgarh area on the rapid transit network for the first time.

The Delhi Metro Grey Line corridor consists of three stations – Dwarka (interchange with Blue Line), Nangli and Najafgarh. A senior DMRC official stated,  “The Dwarka-Najafgarh corridor of Delhi Metro will be formally flagged off today by Minister of State (Independent) for Housing & Urban Affairs Hardeep Singh Puri and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.”

The inaugurating ceremony is scheduled at Metro Bhawan at 11 am and passenger services on the section shall commence from 5 pm, said Anuj Daya, the executive director, corporate communication of the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation or DMRC.

After the section gets opened, the Delhi Metro network will expand to 377 km with 274 stations, including the Noida-Greater Noida Aqua Line. Earlier, Mr. Dayal said, “The Delhi Metro Grey Line is a standard-gauge section and out of the 4.295 km, 2.57 km is elevated and 1.5 km underground. With the opening of this section, the Dwarka metro station is all set to emerge as an interchange facility that will connect the sub-city with the locality of Najafgarh.”

Janak Kumar Garg, the Commissioner of Metro Rail Safety or CMRS had given the mandatory approval for starting passenger operations after examing the corridor for safety on Wednesday. 

Mr. Dayal also stated a peak hour frequency of 7 minutes and 30 seconds should be maintained on this stretch. The total travel time on this section shall be 6 minutes and 20 seconds and three trains shall run on this section and a fourth train has been planned, he said.

Currently, the DMRC runs 376 trains, spanning 2,206 coaches and 4,778 trips per day. Earlier, the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation said that the Grey Line corridor is being extended by another 1.18 km till Dhansa Stand, which is slated for completion by December 2020.

Mr. Dayal also said Dwarka will become the second interchange facility in the Dwarka sub-city after the Dwarka Sector 21 station. In total, the Delhi Metro will have 28 interchange facilities after its opening.

Related Articles
Next Story
Going Viral
PM Modi Tweets Wishes On Amit Shah’s 55th Birthday, “Experienced, Efficient Organiser”

PM Modi Tweets Wishes On Amit Shah’s 55th Birthday, “Experienced, Efficient Organiser”

by Chandrani Sarkar October 22, 2019
On Tuesday, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted birthday wishes this morning for Amit Shah, said that he is “contributing significantly in empowering and securing India.” PM Modi tweets in Hindi: “I wish a very happy birthday to my colleague in the cabinet, Amit Shah, a hard-working, experienced, efficient organizer. Apart from playing a valuable role in the government, he is also contributing significantly to empowering and securing India. May...