Today is the first phase of the national election and political bigwigs are going to try their fate. Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, Odisha, and Arunachal Pradesh will have polling simultaneously in 91 Lok Sabha seats in 18 states and two union territories. Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Andhra Pradesh people are going to cast their vote for all the assembly constituencies. However, the election process in Odisha will take place in 28 out of 147 seats.

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, his main competitor YS Jagan Mohan Reddy are contesting in Kuppam and Pulivendula assembly constituencies respectively. Nara Lokesh, the son of Mr. Naidu will be contesting from Mangalagiri.

Jana Sena has fielded its chief Pawan Kalyan from two assembly constituencies– Bhimavaram and Gajuwaka. State Congress chief Raghuveera Reddy is contesting from Kalyandurg assembly constituency.

The TDP has fielded for the second time Chandrababu Naidu’s brother-in-law and actor N Balakrishna from Hindupur assembly. In Sikkim, more than 4 lakh voters will be voting to elect a 32-member assembly.  Sikkim Chief Minister Pawan Kimar Chamling is contesting from two assembly seats-Poklok-Kamrang and Namchi-Singhithang.

The current president of the Hamro Sikkim party (HSP), Bhaichung Bhutia will be contesting for two assembly seats. Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is seeking again to hold his position.

All the 60 seats of Arunachal Pradesh will be contesting by BJP for the first time. Chief Minister Pema Khandu is seeking a re-election from Mukto assembly seat for the third consecutive term. This year for 543 Lok Sabha seat polling will be in seven phases, April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19 while the results will be announced on May 23.

Related Articles
Next Story
Going Viral
Amid United States New Tariffs, Xi Jinping, Narendra Modi, And Vladimir Putin To Discuss Protectionism

Amid United States New Tariffs, Xi Jinping, Narendra Modi, And Vladimir Putin To Discuss Protectionism

by Chandrani Sarkar June 24, 2019
Chinese President Xi Jinping will hold meetings with Russian President Vladimir Putin, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and other leaders of BRICS grouping during the G20 Summit in Japan, where they are likely to discuss about opposing the “protectionist” and “unilateralist” trade policies of the United States, reports a senior minister of China. China is seeking to build a strong rivalry against the United President Donald Trump using tariffs and trade...